

PRESIDENT'S KUDOS REPORT

FEBRUARY 2018





York University partnered with FCJ Refugee Centre to launch a first-of-its-kind pilot project that allows young people whose immigration status is uncertain in Canada to pursue a degree.



The \$2.6-million NSERC/Sanofi Industrial Research Chair in Vaccine Mathematics, Modelling and Manufacturing was awarded to Professor Jianhong Wu, who will lead a team of York professors, post-doctoral fellows and graduate students to help identify populations most susceptible to infectious diseases and enable manufacturers to produce cost-effective vaccines that can be deployed quickly.



Several York community members were appointed to the Order of Ontario, the province's highest honour, including four alumni and an honorary degree recipient:

- Sandra Chapnik (LLB '76) •
- Michael Geist (LLB '92) •
- Floyd Laughren (BA '69)
- Elizabeth Sheehy (LLB '81)
- Michael Lee-Chin (LLD [Hons.] '09)



The University recently marked the 10th anniversary of the LeaderShape Institute, with 60 students attending the annual award-winning leadership development program to explore questions about their life goals and identity.





The Schulich School of Business launched its new Master of Marketing degree program, the first master's program of its kind in Canada specifically designed to train university graduates in professional marketing skills, preparing them to take on progressive marketing roles.



History doctoral candidate Alan Corbiere has won the Governor General of Canada's Meritorious Service Medal (Civil Division) for his work in developing the Anishinaabemowin Revival Program (for the Ojibwa language).



Janelle Hinds, a 2016 LaunchYU graduate, was selected as one of five Canadians to receive the Everyday Political Citizen award by Samara Canada.



The annual Awards and Scholarships Reception recognized student-athletes who have won various awards and bursaries for the 2017-18 academic year, celebrating their success in both the classroom and their sport in the previous year.



The Faculty of Science's annual Honours and Awards Ceremony recognized students who received awards for their academic excellence and extracurricular involvement.



Professor Gillian Helfield was the course director for the film course "Film 1900: Cinema and the City," which was recognized as a runner-up for the 2017 International e-Learning Award for its innovative online content.



Faghya Shafiq won the Ontario Gold Medal for the Common Final Examination (CFE), a key requirement of the Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA) designation, making this the third year in a row a Schulich School of Business graduate has been awarded Gold.



The Lions men's and women's track and field teams had seven podium finishes, three U SPORTS automatic qualifiers and sixteen new personal bests at the 37th annual Can Am Classic in Windsor.



Professor Ann Kim was awarded a Child and Youth Refugee Coalition grant, which is funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada, to study the experiences of refugees from the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea) in Canada.



Biology researcher Bridget Stutchbury in the Faculty of Science has received additional funding from the Kenneth M. Molson Foundation to continue her research on the impact of pesticides on migratory songbirds.



Alumnus Lorne Rubenstein was named the recipient of the 2018 PGA Lifetime Achievement Award in Journalism.



The 2016-17 Outstanding Paper Award for the *Journal of Mathematics and the Arts* was awarded to PhD student John Campbell for his paper "Visualizing large-order groups with computer-generated Cayley tables."



For his excellence in health education, alumnus Dan Andreae was a distinguished biographee of Marquis Who's Who, recipient of a Distinguished Humanitarian Award, and Marquis Who's Who Lifetime Achiever. Individuals profiled in Marquis Who's Who biographical volumes are selected on the basis of factors such as position, noteworthy accomplishments, visibility, and prominence in a field.



The annual Osgoode Research Celebration recognized researchers of Osgoode Hall Law School whose scholarly work critically examines and enables access.



York Lions' athletic achievements from the Fall were celebrated at the annual Athletes' Lunch, including:

- the field hockey team became OUA champions;
- the men's soccer team claimed the OUA title;
- the field hockey team were U SPORTS silver medalists;
- the women's tennis team were OUA silver medalists;
- 19 athletes were celebrated as OUA All-Star Athletes.

Four faculty members from the Faculty of Environmental Science are recipients of grants that will go toward their scholarly research endeavors:

- Professor Deborah Barndt was awarded a SSHRC Connections Grant for the second time for \$48,000 for her project "Earth to table legacies: A transmedia educational package";
- Professor Sarah Flicker was awarded \$25,000 for an OPHEA Healthy Schools, Healthy Communities project on Implementation of Theatrical Methods to teach health and physical education;
- Professor Christina Hoicka was awarded \$15,000 for a MITACS Accelerate Internship with TRCA for MES student Susan Wyse on Evaluating Low Carbon Technologies and Best Practices;
- Professor Greg Thiemann received another \$38,000 from Indian Affairs & Northern Development Canada for his project "Community-Based Monitoring of Ice-Breeding Seals and Predator-Prey Dynamics in the Gulf of Boothia."



Professor Parbudyal Singh was recognized as this year's Distinguished Human Resources Professional at the 2018 Human Resources Professionals Association Annual Conference and Trade Show.



Science Engagement Programs in the Faculty of Science will receive an initial \$60,000 in funding from Actua, a Canadian STEM outreach organization, to expand coding and digital programming for youth.





Alumnus Steven Del Duca was appointed Minister of Economic Development and Growth in the updated provincial cabinet, and alumna Dr. Helena Jaczek, who serves as Minister of Community and Social Services, will take on the additional role of Chair of Cabinet.



Osgoode professor Poonam Puri was appointed to the Ontario Securities Commission for a two-year term.



In recognition of his contributions to the field of psychology, Professor Emeritus Juan Pascual-Leone has been appointed a Fellow of the Association for Psychological Science, the leading international organization dedicated to advancing scientific psychology across disciplinary and geographic borders.



Osgoode alumna Maureen E. Ryan was among the new appointees to the Queen's Counsel in Newfoundland and Labrador.