

PRESIDENT'S **KUDOS REPORT**

MARCH 2019





Alumna Lilly Singh (BA '10) has been named host of "A Little Late With Lilly Singh" on NBC, making her the first woman of colour to host a daily late-night show on a major US network.



Biology professor Jennifer I-Ling Chen was awarded the 2019 Fred Beamish Award from the Canadian Society of Chemistry in recognition of her innovative research in the field of analytical chemistry.



Schulich and Osgoode students Farzad Tabaee (MBA/JD '19) and Shane Morganstein (MBA/JD '20) won second-place overall in the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) International Commercial Mediation Competition held in Paris, France.



A team of Osgoode Hall Law School students, Matthew Stanton, Andrew Coates, Nancy Walpole, Samiyyah Ganga and Kenny Hildebrand, and their coaches, Professors Shelley Kierstead and Michael Tweyman, won first place at the Walsh Family Law Moot for the second year in a row. Students Ana Siqueira Cabral and Biancha-Nikolette Jacob-Okorn also received the top Representation Plan award at the Walsh Family Law Negotiation Competition.



Three teams represented Lass selective annual event that ad Lassonde's Programming Team and Amer Alshoghri, came in se

Three teams represented Lassonde at the Canadian Engineering Competition, a highly selective annual event that admits only the top 150 engineering students nationwide. Lassonde's Programming Team, composed of Julia Paglia, Shawn Verma, Josh Abraham and Amer Alshoghri, came in second place.



Alumnus David J. Chariandy (PHD '02) is among eight writers from around the world to receive the 2019 Windham-Campbell Prize, an anonymously judged literary award worth \$165,000 U.S. (approx. \$218,790 Cdn). The grant is awarded to poets and writers of fiction, non-fiction and drama in support of their literary pursuits.



York Lions athlete Jenna Gray was awarded the U SPORTS 2018-19 Marion Hilliard Award, which recognizes excellence in the areas of athletics, academics and community involvement by a women's hockey student-athlete.



The World University Services of Canada (WUSC) recently awarded York University's student Keele Campus Local Committee the 2018 Local Committee of the Year Award, the highest award given at the organization's annual international forum. WUSC is a non-profit dedicated to improving education, employment and empowerment opportunities for youth around the world.



Two Department of History researchers were recognized at the Lieutenant-Governor's Ontario Heritage Awards for Excellence in Conservation:

- Gilberto Fernandes, a postdoctoral fellow at the Robarts Centre for Canadian Studies and the History Department, was recognized for his work on "City Builders: A History of Immigrant Construction Workers in Post-war Toronto."
- Carolyn Podruchny, associate professor of history, also won an Excellence in Conservation Award for her project, "The Manitoulin Island Summer Historical Institute," a seven-day summer project focused on promoting critical dialogue between Anishinaabe elders and knowledge carriers and university-based scholars and students.



Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science PhD student Maryam Keyvanara was awarded the inaugural Mercedes T. Richards & Jane St. Amour Award in Engineering.



York University officially opened its new Korean Office for Research & Education (KORE) and launched a five-year project, "Korea in the World, the World in Korean Studies," with a \$1.15-million award from the Academy of Korean Studies.



A team of fourth-year undergraduate students - Adi Tzadok, Sarah Lord and Daniel Levinsky - from the Schulich School of Business earned second-place at the L'Oréal Brandstorm marketing competition in Montreal. This year's national case competition focused on innovation in the beauty industry and invited teams of three stvudents to create the skincare experience of the future for health-conscious consumers. In addition to the second-place team, another team from Schulich also secured a spot in the finals.









- Ali Abdul Sater, an assistant professor in the School of Kinesiology & Health Science, Faculty of Health, is principal investigator on a five-year project that has been awarded a CIHR grant of \$803,250;
- Mary Fox, an associate professor in the School of Nursing, Faculty of Health, and a member of YU-CARE, is principal investigator on a three-year project that will receive \$321,300 in CIHR funding;
- and Michael Rotondi, an associate professor in the School of Kinesiology & Health Science, Faculty of Health, will receive a \$100,000 grant for a one-year project that will enable his team to develop new statistical methods to improve measurement of urban Indigenous children's health.



A team of students from Glendon's Master's in Public & International Affairs (MPIA) program earned second place at this year's National Public Administration Student Case Competition. The team, which was coached by Professor Francis Garon and BMO Visiting Fellow Andrew Mackay, included graduate students Mona Awwad, Andrea Garland, Monica Smith and Kyler Woodmass



Twelve graduating Osgoode Hall Law School JD students received the 2019 Dean's Gold Key Awards for outstanding contribution to the life of the Law School:

- Manuela Morales
- · Aashish Oberoi
- · Adam Veenendaal
- · Hana Bell
- · Elisa Mastrorillo
- Rick Frank

- Jerico Espinas
- Angela Yenssen
- · Yadesha Satheaswaran
- · Alana Robert
- Scott Lin
- Shanice Prendergast [not pictured]



York University track and field team members Pierce Lepage and Brittany Crew were named the 2019 U SPORTS field athletes of the year in recognition of their outstanding seasons. Pierce won a silver medal at the 2018 Commonwealth Games and is currently ranked among the best decathletes in the world, while Crew won a bronze medal in shot put at the 2018 Commonwealth Games and is one of the most decorated athletes in the history of the Lions women's track & field team.







Three Osgoode Hall Law school alumni received awards by the Ontario Bar Association for their contributions to the practice of law in Ontario and to the Ontario Bar Association:

- John R. Cockburn ('60) is a recipient of the Joel Kuchar Award for Professionalism and Civility;
- Eva E. Marszewski ('73) is a recipient of the Award for Distinguished Service;
- and the Honourable Justice Patricia C. Hennessy ('79) is a recipient of the OBA President's Award.



First-year Osgoode Hall Law School JD student Fahamida Zahan served as the 2019 Dean for a Day on March 14. Her winning essay submission offers advice to Osgoode's next Dean.

APPOINTMENTS



Sarah Bay-Cheng, Chair and Professor of Theater and Dance at Bowdoin College in Brunswick, Maine, has been appointed Dean of York University's School of the Arts, Media, Performance & Design.



Professor Norma Sue Fisher-Stitt will take on the role of interim associate vice-president teaching and learning, effective July 1 for a one-year period.





Two York alumni were elected to the House of Commons in the most recent federal byelection:

- Jagmeet Singh (LLB '05) Member of Parliament for Burnaby South
- · Scot Davidson (BA '93) Member of Parliament for York-Simcoe



AMPD alumnus Francoa Boni was appointed artistic director of the PuSh International Performing Arts Festival in Vancouver.