

PRESIDENT'S KUDOS REPORT

JUNE 2019





Professor J.J. McMurtry, interim dean of LA&PS, has received the 2019 Merit Award of the Canadian Association for Studies in Co-operation. The award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to teaching and research on the co-operative sector, both in Canada and beyond.



York women's volleyball coach Merv Mosher was inducted into the Ontario Volleyball Hall of Fame for his outstanding contributions to the sport over the past four decades.



Shalyn Isaacs is the recipient of the 2019 Murray G. Ross Award, which is presented annually to a graduating student for scholarship and outstanding participation in undergraduate student life.



History professor Jonathan Edmondson, a Distinguished Research Professor at York, has been awarded a prestigious diploma as a new Corresponding Member of the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut (DAI).



The Schulich School of Business has launched the Sustainable Infrastructure Fellowship Program, and will be welcoming its first cohort of 16 Fellows. This program will teach students the latest advances in infrastructure financing and development to senior public sector infrastructure managers from emerging economies. Schulich has collaborated with Canadian and international investors and the Government of Canada to launch the program as part of a major G7 Investor Global Initiatives project.



AMPD professor Patrick Alcedo's latest documentary, Dancing Manilenyos, was an official selection at the Diversity in Cannes Short Film Showcase. The festival showcase promotes globally diverse filmmakers telling stories specific to marginalized groups.



Awarded for achieving the highest academic standing, three York University graduate students were this year's recipients of a Governor General's Gold Medal for 2019, and six undergraduate students were the recipients of a Governor General's Silver Medal for 2017 and 2018:

- Meghan Clare Hughes, Gold Medal
- Cynthia Kwakyewah, Gold Medal
- Qiyi Tang, Gold Medal
- Nicholas Chrobok, Silver Medal (FW18) [not pictured]
- Zackary Grant Goldford, Silver Medal (FW18)
- Avreen Kaur Kochhar, Silver Medal (FW18) [not pictured]
- Antonnia Kiana Blake, Silver Medal (FW17)
- Natalia Maria Ladyka-Wojcik, Silver Medal (FW17)
- Maryam Samani, Silver Medal (FW17)





Film MFA student Jessica Johnson won the Philip B. Lind Emerging Artist Prize for her work *Hazel Isle*, a 14-minute documentary shot in Scotland that explores how the loss of traditional language affects a rural community.



York University researchers have been awarded 48 Discovery Grants by the Natural Sciences & Engineering Research Council (NSERC) to pursue promising research in the fields of science, engineering, health and more. The grants, which total almost \$8.5 million in funding, include twelve projects led by early career researchers and two Discovery Accelerator Supplement Awards, which were awarded to Lassonde professors Aijun An and Gene Cheung, both from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.



Two York University scholars have been named among this year's recipients of the prestigious Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships:

- Sylvie Bodineau, whose project will explore the everyday social life of a group of exchild soldiers 15 years after demobilization; and
- Melchisedek Chétima, whose research will examine Boko Haram through historicallymediated forms of violence, anti-state activity, and wealth creation.



Physics alumnus Elder Pinzon Guerra (PhD '18) has won the 2019 Thesis Prize presented by the Particle Physics Division of the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) for his work on neutrino oscillations in the Tokai to Kamioka (T2K) accelerator experiment.



Two York faculty members have been named University Professors, recognized for extraordinary contributions to scholarship and teaching and participation in University life. They will be honoured at Spring Convocation:

- Professor Avi Cohen, Department of Economics, Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies; and
- Professor Kim Michasiw, Department of English and Writing Department, Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies.



Osgoode professor Stephanie Ben-Ishai will also be honoured at Spring Convocation for having been named a Distinguished Research Professor, a title given to active members of the academy in recognition of their outstanding scholarly achievements in research.



Health professor Raymond Mar is the recipient of the 2019 Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award, which recognizes the outstanding research of scientists and scholars who show great potential for cutting-edge achievements. The research from Mar's lab centres on how imagined experiences during engagement with stories, such as watching Netflix or reading a novel, might affect how we think and behave in the real world.



Lassonde professor Magdalena Krol has been awarded the 2019 Early Career Hydrogeologist Award from the International Association of Hydrogeologists in recognition of her dedication to advancing research in the contaminant hydrogeology field.



Five York PhD students have been named Vanier Scholars for their academic excellence, research potential and leadership:

- Heather Bergen Social Work; [not pictured]
- · Shraddha Chatterjee Gender, Feminist & Women's Studies;
- Okechukwu Effoduh Law;
- Nadha Hassen Urban & Regional Studies; and
- Inbar Peled Law.



Lassonde PhD student Sowmya Natesan won the Enbridge Graduate Student Award for her research on using technologies such as unmanned aerial vehicles and deep learning for efficient tree species identification.



Health professor Brenda Orazietti has received the Registered Nurses Association of Ontario's Leadership Award in Nursing Education in recognition of her teaching excellence in the field.



Lassonde professor Aleksander Czekanski has received the prestigious C.N. Downing Award from the Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering for his many years of distinguished service to the Society.



Four York University professors have received grants from the New Frontiers in Research Fund, which supports early-career interdisciplinary research. The recipients, who will receive a combined total of \$996,430 in funding, are:

- Sheila Colla "A biocultural and interdisciplinary approach to pollinator conservation through ecology, art and pedagogy"
- Aleksander Czekanski "Zero-Gravity 3D Bioprinting of Super-Soft Materials"
- Valerie Schoof "People and primates: a bio-geo-cultural approach to understanding human-wildlife interactions"
- Estair Van Wagner "The Picklock of Property Relations in British Columbia's Private Forest Lands: Disentangling title, ownership and governance in Vancouver Island's forests"



Mathematics professor Jianhong Wu, who is also a Canada Research Chair in Industrial and Applied Mathematics and a NSERC/Sanofi Industrial Research Chair in Vaccine Mathematics, Modelling and Manufacturing, received the 2019 CAIMS-Fields Industrial Mathematics Prize in recognition of his collaborative research with public health professionals in government and industry, and for applying his expert knowledge to infectious disease preparedness and mitigation strategies.

APPOINTMENTS



Dr. Shelia Cote-Meek has been appointed York University's first Vice-President, Equity, People and Culture. She will take office on October 1, 2019.



Professor Gus Van Harten has been appointed Associate Dean, Academic of Osgoode Hall Law School, effective July 1.



Osgoode professor Pina D'Agostino has been appointed Chair of the Advisory Committee for the new Alectra Utilies Green Energy & Technology Centre. The committee will advise on clean energy initiatives and community partnerships in order to make the centre a collaborative platform.