

PRESIDENT'S **KUDOS REPORT**











York awarded honorary degrees to four remarkable individuals who are making incredible contributions to their respective fields and the public good. The four recipients are:

- · Dionne Brand, poet, novelist, essayist and public intellectual Honorary Doctor of Letters:
- Steven Campbell, entrepreneur and environmentalist Honorary Doctor of Laws;
- Margot Franssen, entrepreneur and advocate for women and girls Honorary Doctor of Laws; and
- Trina McQueen, broadcast media trailblazer Honorary Doctor of Laws.



The Economist ranked the MBA program at our Schulich School of Business number one in Canada in the magazine's annual survey of the world's top 100 MBA programs.



The MBA program at York University's Schulich School of Business was ranked second in the world according to the results of a global survey conducted by Corporate Knights, one of the world's largest circulation magazines with an explicit focus on responsible business.





The Canadian Institute for the Administration of Justice (CIAJ) has announced its Justice Medal Award will be jointly awarded to Osgoode Hall Law School Professor Emeritus John McCamus and alumnus Patrick J. LeSage. The Medal marks the achievement of a person who has made a significant contribution to the administration of justice in Canada.



Research Infosource ranked York among the top 50 research universities in Canada for the third year in a row. Notably, the University took the top spot in Canada in the social sciences and humanities, and placed third in health - all key areas of strength for the University.



Two of Geography Professor Kean Birch's papers were the most cited and the most read articles in the world's leading science and technology studies journal, *Science, Technology, & Human Values*. Having both the most cited and most read article in an academic journal with different papers is an almost unheard-of achievement in a discipline.

- The most cited paper is a 2017 article titled "Rethinking Value in the Bio-economy: Finance, Assetization, and the Management of Value"
- The most read paper is a 2019 article titled "Technoscience Rent: Toward a Theory of Rentiership for Technoscientific Capitalism"



The Lions women's soccer team was crowned Ontario University Athletics (OUA) champions with a 2-0 victory over the Toronto Varsity Blues in the gold medal final at Gee-Gees Field in Ottawa. The title is the Lions' first since 2009 and the fourth overall in program history.



Chemistry Professor and Tier II Canada Research Chair Chris Caputo in the Faculty of Science has received the 2019 Petro-Canada Young Innovator Award, which is presented to outstanding early-career faculty members at York. The award is jointly supported by Petro-Canada (now Suncor Energy Inc.) and the University to encourage excellence in teaching and research.

Caputo also recently received a \$450,000 Natural Sciences & Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Collaborative Research and Development (CRD) Grant with Toronto start-up Inkbox to study molecules to improve semi-permanent tattoo technology.



Joan and Martin Goldfarb contributed \$5 million to build a new art gallery at the Keele Campus. The new gallery will be named in honour of the Goldfarbs.



Maclean's ranked York University **ninth place** among Canadian mathematics programs. For the second year in a row, York University was also ranked in the top five provincially.



Schulich Professor Ela Veresiu was awarded an honorable mention for the Robert Ferber Award, which recognizes the best dissertation-based articles published in the *Journal of Consumer Research*. The award recognizes the research paper Veresiu and her colleague, Professor Markus Giesler, wrote, which is entitled "Beyond Acculturation: Multiculturalism and the Institutional Shaping of an Ethnic Consumer Subject."



Twelve PhD students from the Faculty of Science and the Lassonde School of Engineering are this year's new Carswell Scholars. The Carswell Scholars program was established thanks to a gift from the Carswell Family Foundation and supports students' research endeavours. This year's Carswell Scholars are:

Faculty of Science

- Laura Farkas, Department of Science & Technology Studies;
- · Laura Keane, Department of Mathematics & Statistics;
- Emanuele Mendicelli, Department of Physics & Astronomy;
- · Katherine Akemi Odanaka, Department of Biology;
- · Víctor Flores Romero, Department of Chemistry; and
- Farwa Sajadi, Department of Biology.

Lassonde School of Engineering [one recipient has asked to remain anonymous]

- Seyed-Mohammad Hosseini, Earth & Space Science & Engineering;
- Rezaul Karim, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science program;
- · Saba Miri, Civil Engineering;
- Parham Mohammadi, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science; and
- · Mingfeng Yuan, Earth & Space Science & Engineering.



British Columbia's Ministry of Health has awarded School of Administrative Studies' Disaster and Emergency Management Professor Eric Kennedy \$117,000 to support an expansion of the Science Outside the Lab (SOtL) program. Co-hosted with York, SOtL is a competitive science policy immersion program that runs two sessions a year for graduate students and postdoctoral Fellows in any discipline.







Four faculty members within the Faculty of Health were recognized with Faculty Awards for their excellence and innovation in teaching, research and service. This year's recipients are:

- Ali Abdul-Sater Award for Excellence in Research;
- Michael Boni Award for Excellence in Teaching;
- Christopher Perry Award for Excellence in Service in the University and Community;
- Hannah Wong Award for Excellence in Service in the University and Community.

APPOINTMENTS



Physics Professor Joel Zylberberg has been appointed a new Associate Fellow at the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR).