

PRESIDENT'S **KUDOS REPORT**





Lassonde School of Engineering Professor Satinder K. Brar was recognized as this year's Eddy Principles/Processes Wastewater Medal winner, conferred by the Water Environment Federation. The honour is bestowed for research that makes a vital contribution to the existing knowledge of the fundamental principles or process of wastewater treatment.







Seven York University alumni have been named to Toronto Life's 50 Most Influential Torontonians of 2019:

- Matt Galloway, CBC Radio Host;
- Allison Gordon, CEO and Director, 48North;
- Marie Henein, lawyer;
- Jagmeet Singh, NDP Leader;
- Lilly Singh, late night host;
- Jesse Thistle, author; and
- John Tory, Mayor of Toronto.









Osgoode alumnus Ranjan Agarwal received the *President's Award* at the South Asian Bar Association of Toronto's 14th Annual Gala & Awards Night for his significant contribution to the advancement of fustice in Ontario and beyond.















Twelve York University alumni were named recipients of the WXN 2019 *Canada's Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Award.* The award was created to recognize the incredible accomplishments of women, develop a community of support, and increase the visibility of strong leaders in order to inspire future generations. The twelve alumni are:

- Dr. Wendy Cukier, Professor, Entrepreneurship and Strategy, Ryerson University;
- Monika Federau, Senior Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer, Intact Financial Corporation;
- Melissa Grelo, Co-host, The Social, Bell Media;
- Reetu Gupta, President and Chief Executive Officer, The Easton's Group of Hotels / The Gupta Group;
- Mina Mawani, President and Chief Executive Officer, Crohn's & Colitis Canada;
- Carolyn McPherson, Associate Vice President, Backyard Living and Seasonal, Canadian Tire Corporation, Ltd.;
- Jagoda Pike, President and Chief Executive Officer, Homewood Health Inc. and Homewood Health Centre;
- Jodi Kovitz, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Move the Dial;
- Susan Ursel, Partner, Ursel Phillips Fellows Hopkinson LLP;
- Susan Uthayakumar, Country President Canada, Schneider Electric Canada Inc.;
- Annesley Wallace, Senior Vice-President, Pension Services and Communications, OMERS; and
- Zoya Zayler, Canada Inclusion & Diversity Lead, Accenture.



Lions football player Jacob Janke received the U SPORTS Russ Jackson Award. Janke is the first-ever York recipient of the national award, which is given to the football player who best exemplifies the attributes of academic achievement, football skill and citizenship. He also earned second-team all-Canadian honours after a tremendous season on the field.







The Art Gallery of York University (AGYU) took home seven out of the 25 awards presented at the 2019 Ontario Association of Art Galleries (OAAG) Awards of Excellence:

- The Inaugural BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Colour) Changemaker Award: Emelie Chhangur, Interim Director/Curator of the AGYU;
- Curatorial writing award: under 2000 words, awarded to Emelie Chhangur for *Communities of Love: Anthony Gebrehiwot* (2018) Art Gallery of York University with Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival Gallery;
- Curatorial writing award, major essay: over 5000 words, awarded to Emelie Chhangur and Philip Monk, curator emeritus of the AGYU, for *Migrating the Margins: Circumlocating the Future of Toronto Art* (2019);
- Public Program Award: Emelie Chhangur and Allyson Adley, AGYU collections and education assistant, for the project *RISE/Truth Be Told* (2017-2018)
- Art Publication of the Year: Migrating the Margins to Emelie Chhangur and Philip Monk, writers, and Michael Maranda, publication coordinator;
- Partner Award: R.I.S.E. Edutainment, Scarborough for the AGYU project RISE/Truth Be Told (experimental film by Bárbara Wagner and Benjamin de Burca); and
- Exhibition Catalogue Design Award: Graphic designer Sameer Farooq for work on the AGYU publication *Migrating the Margins*. [not pictured]



The Board of Regents of the American College of Trial Lawyers has voted to award the Samuel E. Gates Litigation Award to Osgoode Visiting Professor David Lepofsky in recognition of his significant contributions to the Bar and the profession and his work as a pioneer in the field of human rights and disability law.

APPOINTMENTS



Professor Amir Asif was appointed York's new Vice President of Research & Innovation for a five-year term beginning on May 1, 2020.



Pascal Robichaud was appointed York's new University Secretary for a five-year term beginning on January 1, 2020.



John Clarke was appointed the next Packer Visitor in Social Justice in the Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies for a two-year term.